kellyschreckengost

September 22, 2012

Hello World!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by kschreckengost @ 12:50 pm

This post marks a momentous time in my life and my career. This is my very first blog.  As a speech-language pathologist who has been removed from the public school setting now for eight years, I am unable to collaborate with other teachers and professionals on a daily, face-to-face basis.  I now work in private practice and as a private tutor. I miss the daily collaboration of bouncing ideas back and forth and learning from others’ experiences. I am hoping that through this blog, I can make connections that will allow me to fill this void.

Although I don’t have a network of professionals and friends to talk with daily, I have been able to keep in touch with many of my former colleagues online. Most of this communication has been very basic, with email being my primary resource used. With the smart phones of today, email communication is a lot faster than it used to be when you had to log in to your computer each time and check your mail, so I’m thankful for that. Still, I know that there are even better communication tools out there and I really look forward to learning more about them so that I can incorporate them into my educational routine.

As a private tutor, I am very interested in creating a blog for my students. My goal is to advance my knowledge and my students’ knowledge so that we can incorporate blogging into our language arts curriculum, while also increasing our computer and web literacy.

I hope to incorporate tools such as wikis, social networks-such as Facebook and Twitter, and RSS feeds into my site soon.  My students have been taught about Wikipedia and we have all used it, but I’d really like to learn how to create and use my own wikis in the classroom.  As for Facebook or Twitter, I’m still really hesitant about their use in the educational setting, but look forward to hearing how others have successfully incorporated them for learning so that I can learn from their experiences.

1 Comment »

  1. Kelly,

    Looks like you are off to a good start! There are tons of resources out there for us to utilize. Like you I am looking to take advantage of the knowledge and expertise of others to improve in my own work. I’m continually impressed by the quality of some of the resources that I run into via listservs, blogs, websites and other online resources. There is a great network of resources, we just have to tap into it.

    Clair

    Comment by Clair Judas — September 23, 2012 @ 2:28 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Cranberry Classical Conversations

To Know God and To Make Him Known

dawnlfrye

Exploring the vast universe of education

mcvogle

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

robertreedut11

My vision of education and online learning

Say what?

Sharing information and resources around technology, education... and more.

Jennhund's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

