kellyschreckengost

September 30, 2012

Social Bookmarking Plan

Filed under: Uncategorized — by kschreckengost @ 8:45 pm

Well, I just signed up for a Twitter account. I’ve been hesitant about this for years. However, after reading Chapter 6 in Will Richardson’s Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms, I finally gained enough knowledge (and courage 🙂 ) to comfortably move forward.

My goal in using Twitter is twofold. First, I’d like to gain enough expertise to use it for myself and to build a collaborative network with my colleagues. Second, I’d eventually like to use it in the classroom. I posted a link a few days back to Ms. Cassidy’s Classroom Blog http://mscassidysclass.edublogs.org/. I was very impressed that this first grade classroom in Saskatchewan, Canada, had their very own classroom Twitter account. This really sparked my interest into how a social site could be used in elementary education and be safe and successful.

So, I’ve decided that to fulfill the first part of my goal in using Twitter for education, I am going to create a network of some friends and colleagues to join me on Twitter. I thought that we could all follow each other with the goal of expanding our educational resources. For example, I’d like to build a list of resources for speech-language pathology that would cover all areas of learning for school-based elementary aged students. Each one of my colleagues and myself would need to start “tweeting” sites and links to blogs and websites where this information can be found.  Not only will we have built a great resource site, but we will be actively connected to each other should we need quick advice or assistance.

 

1 Comment »

  1. Oh boy. I think I am going to need to get a twitter account myself. I have a friend who is 100% anti-facebook, but she loves twitter. I cannot make comment or judgement since I do not have a twitter account, but up until now I thought they were pretty similar in that they are ways to stay in touch. She initially used hers for educational purposes, but now that she has been on for a few months, I think she is roped in to all the celebrity hupla. I have to admit, it is pretty interesting to know that you may very well be talking to someone famous!

    Comment by jenn — October 1, 2012 @ 9:56 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Cranberry Classical Conversations

To Know God and To Make Him Known

dawnlfrye

Exploring the vast universe of education

mcvogle

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

robertreedut11

My vision of education and online learning

Say what?

Sharing information and resources around technology, education... and more.

Jennhund's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

