kellyschreckengost

October 15, 2012

Using Podcasts in the Classroom

Filed under: Uncategorized — by kschreckengost @ 8:15 pm

This week I was looking for an example podcast to help my children understand how to incorporate technology into their language arts curriculum. I finally came across a series of podcasts from Wells Elementary School’s 4th grade students. The one that sparked my interest was by Ms. Weisman’s class. The class put together a series of stories/letters/poems that they had written, also incorporating some music in between. I found this very interesting. I am now planning on using this podcast as an example to show my children how written works can be brought to life. I am also going to have them create an audio book of their favorite works and pick music of their choice to depict the tone and mood for their stories. Essentially, I want them to understand that they can use music, just like an illustrator would use pictures to help enhance a story.

2 Comments »

  1. This is awesome! Okay, first of all, my daughter’s fourth grade teacher is MR. Weisman, and his wife teaches second grade, so I was a bit taken aback by that when I saw the name. Not the same (obviously), but uncanny nonetheless.

    Second of all, what a very cool idea for the teacher to have her students create the podcasts! Wow–now that is getting the students up to date.

    Third of all, Love your idea on having your children create podcasts using the concept that music can also create a mood similarly to the pictures that are used to enhance the written word. I remember those records that I would play that read the story and I could follow along. There was music in the background, sound effects, and a noise indicator to turn the page. I actually created a few of those for my daughter a couple years back. Are you familiar with Skippy Jon Jones? He is a Siamese cat that thinks he is a Chihuahua. I used garageband to read it and use sound effects in the background. My daughter is a little too old for them now, but now that we have a new little baby, I am going to try to make as many more as I possible can. I just got two more of the Skippy Jon Jones books, and I want to do all the Little Miss and Mr. books that we have.

    Comment by jennhund — October 17, 2012 @ 1:23 am |Reply

    • Jenn, Thank you for introducing me to the world of Skippyjon Jones! I just visited their website. Did you know that there is a Skippyjon Jones iPad app at the iTunes store? I think my youngest daughter, who just turned 3, will love this. Super idea about using garage band too!

      Comment by kschreckengost — October 17, 2012 @ 2:04 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Cranberry Classical Conversations

To Know God and To Make Him Known

dawnlfrye

Exploring the vast universe of education

mcvogle

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

robertreedut11

My vision of education and online learning

Say what?

Sharing information and resources around technology, education... and more.

Jennhund's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

