kellyschreckengost

November 2, 2012

Web Applications for the Student

Filed under: Uncategorized — by kschreckengost @ 12:34 am
Tags: , ,

This week, I started looking at web applications that are available for the student. One I’d like to talk about today is called Zoho Notebook. I’m sure many of you are already familiar with this app since it has been around for awhile, but since it is new to me, I’d like to explain why I find it so promising. First, since Zoho is a web based app, there are no restrictions as to who can log into it based on operating systems. So if I’m working on my Mac at home and need to finish a page in my notebook later on my PC at work; I can do that-easily.

Zoho Notebook markets itself by saying “Create, Aggregate, Collaborate.” Basically, Zoho Notebook allows you to create and store various types of media (audio, text, photo, video, etc.). It also allows you to take that media and use it in a project. You can take info from various applications and put them into your Zoho Notebook. Another neat feature is that you can use read/write features to share any amount of content that you need to. If you want to share a whole page great, but if you just need to share a video file with someone or a photo, you can just do that too.

Although the above features are great, I can’t help but think of how this app could help many students-especially those in upper grades or at the collegiate level. Since technology has made it easy to store audio files, a student who doesn’t want to miss any important aspects of a class discussion or lecture can now record the material and upload it to Zoho Notebook. Say that, for example, a student is taking an anatomy course. On Zoho Notebook, they can create a page just for the course and add any relevant information that they need. If they are studying a unit on the muscles of the upper arm, they can add any recorded lecture from class, any photos of important muscles to remember (even with added arrows pointing to each muscle!), and key texts points that they need to remember. This is exciting for me and really useful for the kinesthetic learner. When I was in graduate school, I know I would have really appreciated an app like this. Hopefully, many of you can benefit from this neat app as well!

3 Comments »

  1. What a great description for this app. I have heard of zoho and have even used it with my online courses, but I had NO idea what other functions it had. Your example for the college student is right on, and I can’t wait to tell my seniors about all the possible ways they can use this technology. I might even require them to create something for class while using this.

    Comment by jennhund — November 2, 2012 @ 12:52 am |Reply

  2. I am glad you did your post on Zoho. I had heard about it before, but I have not really gotten into it. After reading about it as part of the class, I was really tempted to look into it more for my post. I like the aspect of the Notebook being able to be used on a PC or Mac and the fact that you can store different types of media. I teach at the high school level and I agree with your assessment that this tool could be used at that level very easily by students. I think that the capability of students being able to make their own notebook really gives an instructor the ability to structure a class that can be more student centered. This is a great tool and something I know I am going to look into.

    Comment by robertreedut11 — November 2, 2012 @ 3:51 am |Reply

  3. Kelly,
    I’m not at all familiar with Zoho, so I really appreciate your explanation of the tool and its uses. I can see that it is something that I should spend some time looking at more closely. One of the things I’ve liked about this class is the exposure to more tools, and the impetus to look at those that I’ve known about on a surface level, more closely. You’ve inspired me to check it out.

    Comment by cjudas — November 4, 2012 @ 12:34 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Cranberry Classical Conversations

To Know God and To Make Him Known

dawnlfrye

Exploring the vast universe of education

mcvogle

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

robertreedut11

My vision of education and online learning

Say what?

Sharing information and resources around technology, education... and more.

Jennhund's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

